What I’m thankful for: The privilege of being a SAHM {11/4/11}

“How can it be a large career to tell other people’s children about the rule of three, and a small career to tell one’s own children about the universe? How can it be broad to be the same thing to everyone, and narrow to be everything to someone? No. A woman’s function is laborious, but because it is gigantic, not because it is minute. I will pity Mrs. Jones for the hugeness of her task; I will never pity her for its smallness.”

G.K Chesterton

Today I am thankful for the job my husband has, which gives me the opportunity to stay home with my children.

This is not something I take lightly, nor is it something I was forced to do. No, I chose to stay home with my children, because I want to be the one to kiss their boo-boos, read them stories, and teach them about life. Call me selfish, but I want to be their “everything”. Not forever, of coarse, but for the first few {short} years of their life.

I realize that not every mother has been given this opportunity, for any of a number of reasons..  This fact makes me even more grateful! I also realize that some mothers choose to have a career over staying home. I don’t consider them any less of a mom, and respect the decision they have made for their family.

Actually, I too have dreams of a “career”. Someday, I’d love to be a natural childbirth instructor, and a lactation consultant, and a midwife… someday. 😉 but that’s not where God has me at this stage of my life. So for now I’ll enjoy the snuggles, because I know they’ll be gone all too soon!

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “What I’m thankful for: The privilege of being a SAHM {11/4/11}

  1. patchofheaven says:

    And what a great mom you are! BE and C are blessed to have you as their “everything.”

    I was just thinking along these lines the other night, when I was nursing Zach. I told Derek “thank you” for working so hard so I could stay home with all my babies! I’m pretty spoiled, really. =)

    I love the quote you posted!

  2. Thank you, Ruth! Both for the sweet words of encouragement, and for the example you are to me!

Leave a Reply

