The Last Days of Summer…

How is it already September? Fall is right around the corner, and as much as I’m looking forward to all the fun and beautiful things it has to offer, I’m savoring these last few warm days of summer! I’m learning to appreciate the change of seasons, really I am! but I’ll always be a Southern girl at heart, and with that comes a love for summer and all that it entails…

…Like our garden. We grew LOTS of tomatoes this year! 14 plants worth to be exact, that stretch 25 feet long and 5 feet wide! My hubby calls it “the hedge”. We didn’t really intend to grow that many plants, but as we divided that little pack of what we expected would be 6-8 baby plants, there were 14! and seeing as we were completely UN-successful last year, we decided to plant them all, in case some died…Well, I’m here to say they ALL lived, and they are all HUGE! It has been such a blessing though, as we’ve been making and canning sauce to be used in soups and stews this coming winter. I also decided to try my hand at making a lacto-fermented salsa- a first for me, as I had never LF anything, or made salsa before! It was so easy, and turned out really yummy! (Recipe to come ;-)).

…And our tiny Farmer’s Market held each Saturday morning. This is the first year they’ve had one in the small town we live in, and there are usually just one or two farmers and their tents, but I love it! I wasn’t sure how the “planner” in me would cope with the spontaneity of it all. You know, everything being sold is in season, so most weeks it’s a total surprise what you’ll find. but I’ve actually found it quite fun! Like this week they had apples! Apple season is a favorite in our house. Apple pies, apple dumplings, apple crisps, and of course- BE’s favorite- apple sauce! (He’s been missing that since we finished up the last of what we canned from last year!). Besides apples, I also got a bunch of green beans (that I came home and prepped for my freezer), peaches (will also go in my freezer), potatoes, spaghetti squash, cantaloupe, peppers, and one whole pasture-raised chicken! The chicken and potatoes were Sunday’s Dinner. Yum! …I’ll miss our farmer’s Market!

…And then there’s the beach! Ah yes, I do love the beach! In July I got to take a trip with my two little guys down to FL, where I spent 2 1/2 weeks with family and friends. We had so much fun visiting  many of the old places I used to go when I was little (aquariums, gardens, water parks, etc..). And then to see it through the eyes of *my* children? Precious!! The only down side was my hubby not being with us. He was taking a 2 week Continuing Education Class in Baltimore, and we missed him! but… This Wednesday we will be making a trip over to ocean City MD, as a family! I can’t WAIT to get away for some quality time together!! Bryce’s grandpa lives over on the eastern shore, so not only will we get to visit with him and his wife, we are also blessed that they have opened up their home to us, offering a place to stay for a couple of days! Last time we visited I was very pregnant with CJ, so this will be their first time meeting him. ❤

Speaking of CJ, he will be ONE on the 15th of this month! …I’m still trying to wrap my brain around this concept, and figure out where the last year has gone?! I’m hoping to get the story of his home-birth written up soon, and when I do, I’ll probably share it here. 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Last Days of Summer…

  1. patchofheaven says:

    Yay! You did it! I was just now reading through my (huge) collection of e-mails, and saw that “mission:mamahood” had subscribed to my blog. I wondered if it was you! I can’t wait to follow you along, and get an even closer sneak peek into your life!

Leave a Reply

