Rise and Shine, and Give God the Glory!

The past few weeks, sleep has been scarce. CJ has been cutting teeth, which means he’s been nursing pretty much non-stop through the night! and I’ve. Been. Tired! The other night was no exception.. In the early morning, around 6:30, while changing a diaper (because with all that nursing comes…wet diapers!), I made up my mind- As soon as I finished, I was going back to bed, and if the boys woke, I’d make my hubby get up with them! Great attitude, huh? Never mind the fact that, this being his only day off work in over a week, I would be robbing him of his only opportunity to sleep in…no, we wont go there!

So I finished nursing CJ, and changing his diaper, then laid him back down sleeping once again. Then, for whatever reason, while up to toss the dirty diaper in the diaper pail, I grabbed my phone to check my emails. (I have no idea why! but God does… ;)).

In my inbox, I found a blog post waiting for me from Stephanie @ Keeper of the Home. The title read- “So, mornings…How are they going for you?”. Well obviously this caught my eye. I started reading it… and I started feeling convicted… The content was all about the “Hello Morning’s” challenge, a ministry geared towards moms, helping to “Maximize Your Morning’s” by rising BEFORE your children, in an effort to jump-start your day with scripture and prayer.

“The fundamental idea is to stop waking up TO our children and start waking up FOR them.”

Maybe I should give you a little history on me- Ever since my second babe was born, I’ve been struggling, and searching for a way to have a “quiet” time.. but for one reason or another (the biggest being the fact that I have two babies, a year and a half apart in age, who don’t share a sleep schedule..), I’ve been failing miserably!

At  first – I was in sheer survival mode! During those early months, It was a huge accomplishment to read just one verse a week! Utterly sleep deprived, I told myself that in the rare case I actually found a bit of down time, I needed to listen to all those wise older woman who told me to “sleep when the baby sleeps”… and this is true! Rest is very important to new mommies, especially while dealing with a colicky baby, making sleep even more scarce. I had to realize then– there are seasons in life where an hour-long uninterrupted devotional simply is not an option, and this was one of those seasons.

But seasons do not last forever. And now that my baby is almost a year old, it’s time to move forward! Past the “survival” stage… because surviving is not the same as thriving!

Sitting there, reading that blog post, I could not deny what needed to be done. I got out of bed, made myself a cup of coffee, and spent the next half hour reading my bible. And you know what? It felt really good!! Excited, I decided to look into the “Hello Mornings” challenge. After first talking a bit with my hubby, I decided that this was exactly the motivator I needed, and I’m happy to say- I signed up! 😀 I know it’s not going to be easy, but I look forward to seeing how God is going to use this in my life.

“Maximize Your Mornings” is a 3 months long challenge. It starts September 15th and runs through December 15th. You can learn more here- http://inspiredtoaction.com/resources/hellomornings/maximize-your-mornings-challenge-overview/

If you do decided to join in on the challenge, please leave a comment letting me know. It would be a huge encouragement to me!

So…How ARE your mornings going? Do you have a regular quiet time? I’d love to hear what works for YOU!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

